What I thought of Miracleman #3

Thoughts about #1, and #2

Image

 

Marvel’s reprints of the class Warrior strips pick up pace with this issue which sees the end of the Miracleman/Kid Miracleman fight. It also has one of my favourite panels from the early issues as a beaten and battered Miracleman comes back from the nearly dead…

miracleman21

 

Even as the strip kicks up a gear it’s clear at this early stage that although Moore is trying things that mainstream comics readers weren’t used to in 1982, he was still working within the grammar of the superhero genre at the time as these panels show.

miracleman22

They’re great panels with some fabulous Alan Dais/Garry Leach artwork, but looking back at them, the use of word balloons seems too pedestrian for what Moore is trying to do.  but the next chapter starts to see Moore find the voice we’re more used to while still playing with the reality of a superhero in a real world.

miracleman23

 

I do love the little moments between Mike Moran/Miracleman and his wife Liz in this chapter, and of course, if you want to research a superhero in the real world then comics is the place to get your knowledge. This is also the chapter to introduce the secret agent with the blue sapphire teeth, Mr. Cream. More on him as the reprints continue.

miracleman24

 

The rest of this issue is taken up with printing original art, and a Warpsmiths story from Warrior which hasn’t been reprinted in the US, and it’s a joy to look at.

miracleman25

 

Reading it now makes me remember just how great a SF writer Moore is, and this Warpsmith story is a fantastic little SF story which works independently of the main Miracleman story, but serves as backstory to what’s going to come in future issues. I have to say that Marvel are doing a fantastic job reprinting these stories but to make the point again, the price for these comics are ridiculously expensive but it’s offset by the sheer quality of the reprints.

From now on Marvelman picks up a gear as we the reader find out the origins of Marvelman, and things get set up for Book Two, so more again soon for the next issue….

 

9 thoughts on “What I thought of Miracleman #3

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #4 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #5 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #6 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #7 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #8 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #9 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #10 | My Little Underground

  8. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #11 | My Little Underground

  9. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #12 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

