What I thought of Miracleman #5

Thoughts about #1#2, #3 and #4.

Image

Marvel’s Marvelman/Miracleman reprints start in this issue with the first episodes of The Red King Syndrome. It is beautifully coloured by Steve Oliff which enhances the original art of Alan Davis which was pretty bloody impressive in the first place and it doesn’t detract from Moore setting up his characters for the next part of the story.

In the first book, Moore has introduced his characters. He’s made clear who is who to an extent as obviously to anyone familiar with these stories due to Warrior will know there’s more revelations to come but for new readers this is very much all about coming to terms with what’s happened and waiting for what’s coming next.

This is also the issue which features one of my favourite episodes of Marvelman, One of Those Quiet Moments.

Image

It’s a lovely little moment before all the big stuff kicks off but it’s designed to show that actually Miracleman is going to help humanity in the event of a nuclear war, or at least this is what he promises to the young boy he’s talking to.

Image

After this things fall apart with Mike Moran/Miracleman’s wife, Liz going missing which prompts Miracleman to enlist the aid of Mr. Cream to find out just who exactly has abducted Liz.

Image

To find out who it can be either use your memory or buy this issue in print or digital.

The rest of #5 is made up of a nice little Young Marvelman story with lovely John Ridgeway art. It’s a nice little story but doesn’t add anything to the main story apart from allowing Moore and Ridgeway to indulge in some whimsy and this is a good thing as there’s not enough of this in superhero comics today.

Image

The issue is rounded off with some original Alan Davis art, and a Marvelman and Kid Marvelman reprint from the 1950’s which is I suppose a way to set up readers for the next issue and I’m staying cryptic as to what I mean for new readers, but any old Warrior readers will know exactly what I mean.

As Marvel’s reprints draw closer to the Eclipse material it’s getting interesting to work out what they’re going to do with it. Are they going to recolour it (this would be a tragedy for John Totleban’s work) or leave the original colouring and of course, are they going to censor what those of us who have read the story know is coming up?

Next issue is I reckon, the last to contain only Alan Moore material from Warrior, which makes the Eclipse material due in #7. That’s going to be an interesting issue…..

12 thoughts on “What I thought of Miracleman #5

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #6 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #7 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #8 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #9 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #10 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #11 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #12 | My Little Underground

  8. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #13 | My Little Underground

  9. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman Annual #1 | My Little Underground

  10. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #14 | My Little Underground

  11. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #15 | My Little Underground

  12. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #16 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

