What I thought of Miracleman #6

Thoughts about #1#2, #3 #4 and #5.

Image

 

I do have to say the covers for Marvel Comics reprint of Marvelman/Miracleman have been poor to middling, especially the limited edition covers but this is the first one I’ve though was actually really nice and that Alan Davis put some effort into.

As for the interiors, this issue takes us to nearly the end for the Warrior material as Marvelman and Mr. Cream look to head to find Liz Moran who has been abducted by Emil Gargunza. This also features another one of those lovely Alan Davis panels that made the series a joy back in 1983.

Image

 

Much of this episode is setting things up, but it’s also when Moore & Davis started experimenting with layout which gave us this lovely half page.

Image

Much of the rest of this issue is reprinting The Red King Syndrome drawn by the great John Ridgeway. Not only is it a pretty crucial story in terms of the larger saga but it’s a fine example of just how much talent Warrior had in those days in the early 1980’s. It’s also a story I was dreading to see in colour again as the Eclipse Comics version mucked it up so just what would Marvel and Steve Oliff do to it?

I needed not worry one jot, It’s beautifully coloured.

Image

It’s a fantastic part of the story but it’s the final reprint of this issue that is probably the highlight. I Heard Woodrow Wilson’s Guns is essentially the ‘origin’ of Dr. Gargunza and it’s a messy walk through history for Gargunza as he reveals to Liz Moran who, and what, he is.

Image

The episode ends on a lovely little Quatermass inspired ending that in colour, is fantastic.Go buy it to see how fantastic.

 

Next issue sees the last of the Warrior reprints, and the first Eclipse reprints. I admit to being a bit nervous in seeing how they’ll be handled (will Marvel recolour them?) but not only that, any new reader reading this story for the first time will get a bloody great shock when they go from Alan Davis to Chuck Beckum but we’ll see what the reaction is when #7 comes out….

11 thoughts on “What I thought of Miracleman #6

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #7 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #8 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #9 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #10 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #11 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #12 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #13 | My Little Underground

  8. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman Annual #1 | My Little Underground

  9. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #14 | My Little Underground

  10. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #15 | My Little Underground

  11. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #16 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

