What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #2

Thoughts about #1.

Wickedandthedivine-2

This second issue picks up directly after the explosive end to the first issue as it focuses upon Laura, the teenage girl following the gods at the heart of this story, as she gets more deeply involved with Lucifer, who is in prison.

wickedandthedivine3

 

Most of the rest of the issue deals with Laura’s attempts to help Lucifer, and in the process be transformed into something more. It’s a more interesting issue than the first one, though it’s still trying too hard in the way someone waxing their moustache while sitting outside on London Fields is trying too hard.

There’s not a lot of naturalistic storytelling here, but when it comes (as it does in one three page section), it’s superb and that’s what’s annoying me about this series so far. Gillen is a good writer, even if there’s a lack of distinct voices at times, and while McKelvie is a good artist, and at times, very good indeed, there’s times when his people look too much like the Jamie Hernandez characters he’s based part of his style upon.

This said, I enjoyed this second issue more and there’s a cliffhanger which will make you buy the next issue, but The Wicked and the Divine isn’t doing anything new with the comics medium, but it is going old ground well enough for me to pick up the next issue and see where this story is going.

14 thoughts on “What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #2

  1. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #3 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #4 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #5 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #6 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #7 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #8 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #10 | My Little Underground

  8. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #11 | My Little Underground

  9. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #12 | My Little Underground

  10. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #13 | My Little Underground

  11. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #14 | My Little Underground

  12. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #15 | My Little Underground

  13. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #16 | My Little Underground

  14. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #17 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

