What I thought of Godzilla: Cataclysm #1

godzillacataclysm

I love Godzilla. So a post apocalyptic Godzilla comic should be the sort of thing that requires me to change my boxer shorts.What’s that, this is a post apocalyptic Godzilla?

Yes, here’s the synopsis:

Years have passed since the monster apocalypse nearly destroyed mankind. Now it is merely a distant, nightmarish memory for Hiroshi, an elder in one of the few remaining tribes of humans. Little does Hiroshi know that the apocalypse is not over, and that his memories of the past may yet save the future!

 

We’re pretty much overloaded with visions and stories of a post apocalyptic world in comics with The Walking Dead being the main one, but other titles like the Crossed comics tell a different type of apocalypse, but on the whole it’s become a tiresome way for writers to attempt to say something about the 21st century and fail badly. I would normally be wary of this comic from writer Cullen Bunn and artist Dave Watchter, but it’s fucking Godzilla! So I bought it.

godzillacataclysm1

The art is fantastic and Watchter clearly adores the scenes of big monsters twatting each other, but he manages to convey a ruined Tokyo years after the monsters have gone.

godzillacataclysm2

As for the story, well, there’s not much to it. Survivors go foraging. Find weird things, Bad things happen. Monsters. Godzilla. It’s fun but it’s nothing more than functional though with this being the first in a five issue mini series, it’s obviously unfair to judge the entire series just yet.

Though really, I got what I was expecting from Godzilla: Cataclysm. Big monsters twatting each other and some of the usual post-apocalyptic cliches. It’s not going to drive the medium of comics forward but it is a fun little Godzilla story.

4 thoughts on “What I thought of Godzilla: Cataclysm #1

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Godzilla: Cataclysm #2 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Godzilla: Cataclysm #3 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of Godzilla: Cataclysm #4 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of Godzilla: Cataclysm #5 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

