What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #3

Thoughts about #1 and #2.

Wickedandthedivine-3

This issue opens with a severed head, which in light of the news currently, is a really big bit of a horrible coincidence. It’s a pity it did as I’m finally getting over the aftertaste of the extraordinary amount of hyperbole that’s been written about this comic that on the whole, has been wildly overblown. It’s not the best thing since sliced bread, but it is settling down to be an interesting read, even if it’s a little bit too steeped in it’s own hype.

As mentioned, this issue opens with a severed head of one of the gods the protagonist Laura, is searching for. Thing is the head is still alive and well.

wickedandthedivine4

Much of this issue is essentially two gods slagging each off and calling each other a cunt. It’s a bit like a comic version of football fans pissed on a Friday night but set in a disused underground station.

The reason why this is finally starting to engage me is that McKelvie and Gillen are starting to expand the world they’ve created. Yes, it’s still a bit contrived and owes a wee bit too much to Neil Gaiman’s Sandman, but it’s getting there as long as it builds on the characters who are still 2D, but there’s signs they might actually be something more than cardboard cut-outs.

wickedandthedivine5

The Wicked and the Divine isn’t the best comic you’ll ever read. nor is it the best thing you’ll see in the medium this year, but it’s slowly showing its potential but it needs to develop it’s characters better than it has done.

13 thoughts on “What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #3

  1. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #4 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #5 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #6 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #7 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #8 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #10 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #11 | My Little Underground

  8. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #12 | My Little Underground

  9. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #13 | My Little Underground

  10. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #14 | My Little Underground

  11. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #15 | My Little Underground

  12. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #16 | My Little Underground

  13. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #17 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

