What I thought of Bodies #2

Thoughts about #1.

bodies6

 

Bodies #2 starts the time-displaced murder mystery in the Victorian era with Inspector Hillinghead being propositioned by a ten year old boy for sex. As starts to a comic go, this seriously attracts the attention and I imagine possibly has parallels with current sexual abuse scandals, but it’s an arresting way to start the second issue.

bodies7

 

It’s a much better second issue than the first which I was a bit cagey on, which is mainly due to how the writer Si Spencer spins the mystery of the time jumping corpse more than just a Doctor Who plot. He also builds up the characters though the weakest link is the future London scenes which still feel like they’re too forced.

bodies8

Bodies is a nicely developing comic, though it could be better if it avoided reading like a Guardian editorial in it’s 2014 scenes which does somewhat detract from it’s portrayal of a female British Muslim character as a person as opposed to a political statement. The mystery Spencer is building up over the different time periods is what’s selling this comic as it is ultimately a story about a detective trying to solve a murder, albeit one across multiple time periods. The pacing is such that you want to find out what happens and for the time being, the faults this comic has isn’t getting in the way too much of the mystery at the heart of the comic and I do want to see what happens next issue.

 

5 thoughts on “What I thought of Bodies #2

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Bodies #3 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Bodies #4 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of Bodies #6 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of Bodies #7 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of Bodies #8 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

