What I thought of Miracleman #10

Thoughts about #1#2#3#4#5#6#7#8 and #9.

miracleman-10

Hiding behind a pretty average Rick Veitch cover featuring Kid Marvelman menacing Johnny Bates is the last issue of Eclipse Comic reprints not only to feature Veitch’s art, but it’s the last issue where Alan Moore writes Marvelman/Miracleman in the same fashion as he has from the start. It’s also very much setting things up for the final six Moore issues which make up Book Three.

This issue of Marvel Comics reprint of Miracleman is again recoloured superbly by Steve Oliff but it’s really the dangling plotlines being opened for the next six issues that is important here, with the Kid Miracleman one being the largest, and the most important.

miracleman65

 

Johnny Bates finally standing up to Kid Miracleman is to have truly horrifying consequences in future issues, and we also finally meet Lear who is introduced giving a pensioner a couple of quid for a Guinness or two, after a dig at Thatcher of course. This was the 1980’s…

miracleman66

 

At the end of this issue everyone in the story is in place and there’s a real sense of movement towards something, but this is ultimately a transition issue. In 1986 when this issue originally came out we were all so bloody grateful to see an issue, but by that point Moore, and superhero comics, had moved on quite dramatically with Watchmen showing how Moore had developed as a writer, and it’s this development we see from the next issue which keeps the plot moving but the leap in style and tone is astonishing.

As for the rest of this Marvel reprint, it’s filled out with some original Veitch art and a pointless Mick Anglo Marvelman story which I’d have probably been bored with had I read it when I was six. The filler Marvel are putting in these reprints are getting thinner which make me wonder what on earth they’re going to do to fill out the remaining Moore issues.

Miracleman #10 isn’t a massively exciting issue, but it’s quietly important to understand where things are going to go, and how the story is going to develop. Next issue sees John Totleben take over the art for the last issues with Moore and writer, and for those who’ve never seen what he did on this comic, well, you’re in for a massive treat. It’s simply outstanding, but that’s next issue…..

 

 

7 thoughts on “What I thought of Miracleman #10

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #11 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #12 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #13 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman Annual #1 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #14 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #15 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman #16 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

