What I thought of Nightworld #2

What I thought of #1.

nightworld-2

Issue 2 of Nightworld by Adam McGovern and Paolo Leanori is glorious. Any comic that starts off with a previous issue recap that starts with the line ‘The melancholy demon‘ is going to get me wanting to read on and it does from the opening scenes of demonic speedster Hotspot looking for the MacGuffinesqe Soul Key outrunning cannon shells…

nightworld4

 

To the Underboss wandering around talking the sort of corporate speak that should doom anyone to hell forever.

nightworld5

Nightworld continues is wonderful mix of Jack KIrby via Steve Rude and Brendan McCarthy, mixing in some lovely touches such as the identity of the ‘Super’.

nightworld6

 

It’s fun. The fight scenes are fun. The characters are fun and ideas come flying out all the time. It’s not by any means the smartest comic you’ll read, but it is the most fun you’ll read in a market increasingly dominated by grim grimness from Planet Grim. Apart from The Auteur, this has been the biggest fun reading a mainstream comic I’ve had this year so far. It’s a shame it’s only four issues.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What I thought of Nightworld #2

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Nightworld #3 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Nightworld #4 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

