What I thought of The Multiversity: Society of Super Heroes

Thoughts about The Multiversity #1.

Multiversity-Society-of-Super-Heroes

 

The second issue of The Multiversity is set on one of DC Comics new alternative 52 worlds featuring alternative versions of their main characters. In this case it’s Doctor Fate and the Blackhawks. Got it? No, well unless you’re a regular reader of DC’s superhero comics you probably won’t.

This issue borrows quite heavily from the pulp American heroes of the 1930’s like Doc Savage, but it really reminds me a lot of Alan Moore’s Tom Strong strip which is probably due as much to that comic’s artist Chris Sprouse drawing much of this issue. This issue again mentions the comic that could destroy the world as writer Grant Morrison spins this inter-connected tale of multiple worlds.

multiversity3

Anyone who’s read a superhero comic in the last 75 years will recognise the story of an urgent threat that has to be stopped by a team of superheroes being formed to fight the crisis, and the army of robot monsters, super villains and Nazi zombies from another world.

multiversity4

Multiversity: Society of Superheroes is frankly, fun if you’ve only read superhero comics all your life and you can pick up at least half of the references Morrison throws in this book. As I’m someone who’s read superhero comics virtually all my life, I get all the references Morrison uses in this issue, but there’s still a feeling of joylessness about this.

I described the first issue of this series as a latter Oasis album as it was Morrison endlessly pilfering from what he’d done before again, and this issue isn’t any different. There isn’t anything new, meaningful or original going on here, but there is the illusion of it and I’m sure many will be happy with that as he’s cranks out yet another meta-superhero story featuring invaders from another world. I didn’t especially dislike this story, but I felt like I’d read it before better dozens of times before.

I know Morrison, like Moore and other comic writers has his sycophants, but this is really something only the hardest of sycophants could proclaim as anything more than a decent superhero comic.

 

7 thoughts on “What I thought of The Multiversity: Society of Super Heroes

  1. Pingback: What I thought of The Multiversity: The Just | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of The Multiversity: Pax Americana | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of The Multiversity: Thunderworld Adventures | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of The Multiversity: Guidebook | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of The Multiversity: Mastermen | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of The Multiversity: Ultra Comics | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of The Multiversity #2 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

