What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #4

Thoughts about #1#2 and #3.

wickedandthedivine-4

At the end of the last issue we say the introduction of Baal, one of the twelve gods and possible suspect in the murder of a judge that has framed one of the other twelve gods, Lucifer. Baal is quite frankly, an egotistical prick, but this doesn’t stop the main protagonist Laura from fancying the arse off him.

wickedandthedivine6

The Wicked and the Divine is basically a whodunnit, as well as trying to be a satire on modern society, though it’s less successful being a satire than it is working out it’s story of who killed the judge and who framed Lucifer. When it tries to make light or a point of modern culture it sometimes tries a wee bit too hard to make it’s point as if it was an over enthusiastic schoolboy.

However when it does erupt into action, it does so brilliantly, and Gillen and McKelvie ensure that things crack along at an enormous pace which does help one forget about the rather large amount of exposition each issue contains.

wickedandthedivine7

This is a series which just bubbles at times with the possibility of greatness before it fumbles at the last minute, but it is an engaging wee tale of gods and mortals that I’m enjoying more as the series progresses. I only hope it’s actually going somewhere.

12 thoughts on “What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #4

  1. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #5 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #6 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #7 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #8 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #10 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #11 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #12 | My Little Underground

  8. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #13 | My Little Underground

  9. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #14 | My Little Underground

  10. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #15 | My Little Underground

  11. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #16 | My Little Underground

  12. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #17 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

