What I thought of Bodies #3

Thoughts about #1 and #2.

bodies-3

Part of the problem with far too many monthly comics is that they’re designed to be read in one setting, or a collected trade so not in monthly chunks. Bodies is obviously a mini-series and is very much a comic designed to be read as a whole, and not in monthly segments.

I’ve been not totally engaged in Bodies because frankly it’s all trying a bit too hard to tick off the boxes of what it thinks to be of interest to it’s audience, and the problem with the start of this issue is a great dramatic start to the issue, but it doesn’t quite ring real.

bodies9

This isn’t to say the far right in the UK couldn’t throw together a car bomb (and in my own activism against the far right I know there’s people operating in various groups who could) but because it’s just as I’ve said before about previous issues, a little bit too Guardian for it’s own good. In fact the entire comic tries too hard in all the time periods it’s set in, yet, it succeeds because of the mystery,

The characters are frankly, two-dimensional at best, and dreary cliches at worst, but the mystery is driving this comic, and this drives me as a reader to engage in it, even if I’ve got doubts about it overall. It’s a splendid mystery as Si Spencer slowly unravels the story of the corpse that’s shown up across time.

bodies10

Bodies is something that really will be more rewarding when read in one sitting, but now to me it just feels infuriating though by no means is it a bad comic, it’s just that I think it could have avoided some of the cliches it rolls out. This really though is a murder mystery story and in that respect, it’s been excellent which I why I look forward to the rest of this series.

4 thoughts on “What I thought of Bodies #3

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Bodies #4 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Bodies #6 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of Bodies #7 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of Bodies #8 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

