What I thought of Bodies #4

Thoughts about #1#2 and #3.

bodies-4

The one thing which Bodies isn’t is uninteresting. As a murder mystery/historical drama/police story/SF tale it kind of works as a whole, but as said before, I really do think this is a work which is going to benefit being read in one sitting when it’s released in trade form.

The problem is that the most interesting parts tend to work well (WW2, Victorian age), the ok one could be better (modern day) and the future setting is just a bit annoying and frankly holds the story back because the characters just aren’t interesting enough to care about, even as broad SF comic cliches.

bodies11

For all it’s faults, Bodies really is a comic which gets better with each issue as it drives itself towards its end. As a plot, it’s brilliantly crafted which is supplemented by some fantastic art. It’s sadly some of the characterisation which is a tad lacking. However the plot is the driver here as Spencer hints more and more of these clues each issue, and this issue the hints point to something called the Long Harvest.

bodies12

This issue really is an issue of hints and clues, and I’m sure when looking back at this issue it’ll be all so obvious, but Spencer’s done a good job keeping me guessing as to what exactly is going on which is why I await the last two issues with some curiosity as I really want to know what’s going on.

 

3 thoughts on “What I thought of Bodies #4

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Bodies #6 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Bodies #7 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of Bodies #8 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

