What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #5

Thoughts about #1#2#3 and #4.

wickedandthedivine-5

Issue five of what appears to be the Hipsters comic of choice, see Lucifer trashing North London, which some of us may suggest would be an improvement. Also for something which is ostensibly a superhero book there’s been no big fight scenes causing massive destruction as yet. That isn’t the case as of this issue.

wickedandthedivine8

It’s odd that it’s taken so long for such a scene to pop up, but now that it has it feels like an old friend as it’s probably the sort of action this comic needed as it was in danger of turning into a Guardian comment piece.

wickedandthedivine9

The Wicked and the Divine is certainly a grower on me as I actually feel like I’m reading characters now as opposed to 2D cutouts, but then again after reading this issue it feels the previous four were just introduction and this issue is the one to kick the series off proper. I’m not going to say why as it’d ruin it, but this is the best issue yet of this series.

This feels like it’s going somewhere now and although I still have reservations about some of the flat characterisation, not to mention the art being a wee bit too clean so characters tend to look too alike, it’s a series which takes off with this issue. I hope next issue keeps the momentum up.

11 thoughts on “What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #5

  1. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #6 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #7 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #8 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #10 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #11 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #12 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #13 | My Little Underground

  8. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #14 | My Little Underground

  9. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #15 | My Little Underground

  10. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #16 | My Little Underground

  11. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #17 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

