What I thought of The Multiversity: Thunderworld Adventures

Thoughts about The Multiversity #1,  Society of Super Heroes, The Just and Pax Americana

multiversity-thunderworld

Last issue we saw Morrison being ‘inspired’ by Alan Moore’s Watchmen, and in this issue he’s ‘inspired’ by Alan Moore’s revamp of Marvelman. It should be utterly appalling but in fact it’s the most fun of this series so far, and indeed, it’s the best issue  It’s also the issue that advances the plot somewhat which is good as it was starting to dither in it’s own clever smugness just a tad.

multiversity13

It’s also the closest to a ‘normal’ issue of a superhero comic, and it also helps that Morrison manages to cheerily update Captain Marvel without making the idea cheesy, grim, or just rubbish which is what DC Comics seem to have done with the character now.

multiversity14Thunderworld Adventures is a plain old fashioned fun comic that’s lovingly drawn by Cameron Stewart which reminds readers that it’s possible to do enjoyable superhero stories without adding in rape, torture, needless violence and unrelenting grimness. Yes Morrison slighting references Marvelman but it’s done so fleetingly that it doesn’t come over and creepy or stalky as Pax Americana did.

Overall Multiversity isn’t a great series, but this issue shows there’s life in the Captain Marvel concept and that Morrison can still do good superhero comics, though I have a feeling that this may be a blip. I hope i’m wrong though.

4 thoughts on “What I thought of The Multiversity: Thunderworld Adventures

  1. Pingback: What I thought of The Multiversity: Guidebook | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of The Multiversity: Mastermen | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of The Multiversity: Ultra Comics | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of The Multiversity #2 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

