Read Heavy Metal, Starlog, Warren Magazines and old Marvel magazines for free

I discovered a nice wee magazine archive site the other day. On it, it’s possible to read not only the entire run of SF magazine Starlog for free; Marvel Comics’ Mad ripoff, Crazy, (which I forgot used to reword old Marvel monster strips, not to mention it had Howard the Duck strips not written by Steve Gerber so are pretty rubbish) and even bizarrely enough, a run of Smash Hits.

For me though it’s the collection of old Warren Magazines and the run of Heavy Metal from the first issue that is going to keep me happy over the Christmas holidays.

heavymetal1

There’s some amazing stuff buried in there and I’m going to wade through some of the crap the magazine has for the gems in there. I might even have a shufty at some of those old Smash Hits too…

2 thoughts on “Read Heavy Metal, Starlog, Warren Magazines and old Marvel magazines for free

  1. I’m trying to track down a story that I think was either in Heavy Metal or Epic. I can remember just a little of it. The “twist” of the story is that the two characters that we followed through the story end up getting crushed by this giant object that falls on them. It ends up that the object is a Coke can that had been shot by two boys using it for target practice with their BB gun, and that our protagonists were actually quite tiny.

    I had thought it was in Creepy or maybe Eerie, but I went through all of the back issues of those as well as Vampirella and have not had any luck.

    Does it ring a bell?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Never mind, I found it. It was Epic Illustrated #7. A story called The Llehs. It was a okay story, but I remembered that there were other stories from around the same time in whichever mag it came from that I really liked. By tracking that one down I found the issue I really wanted to find, Epic Illustrated #6. I got it when I was 10 years old, and it blew my little mind.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

