What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #7

Thoughts about #1#2#3#4#5 and #6.

wickedandthedivine-7

 

The Wicked and the Divine over it’s so far short run has drifted from being a sort of superhero comic, to on the surface, a mystery comic, though it’s really trying to comment upon modern life in the UK in the 21st century and it’s clear from the start of this issue where the sights are pointed at this time round.

wickedandthedivine12

I’ll be honest, I find cosplay either something fantastic or something that should be locked away in an airless vault with brown Y-fronts, McBusted and Ian Duncan Smith, so opening this issue at the ”Fanthon” at the Excel Centre in London could be a sign that Gillen and McKelvie are about to have a pop, or at least comment upon the world of comic conventions in the modern era. Conventions now are less of a place to discuss comics, rather than worship at the fountain of geek capitalism, so does this issue provide a bit of comment as our protagonist, Laura, tries to find the two fans that tried to kill Lucifer? Oh yes and you can see in these panels where Laura bumps into the journalist Laurie Penny, sorry, Cassandra…

wickedandthedivine13

 

Thanks to Casandra, Laura learns of something called ‘the Prometheus Gambit’. Essentially a rumour that if you kill a god and shout ‘Prometheus’ at the same time, you take their powers and abilities which is what Laura now thinks the two fans tried to do when they attempted to kill Lucifer.

At this point the reader is introduced to Brunhilde and Woden, two more members of the pantheon of gods/super heroes.

wickedandthedivine14

This has developed into a fantastic comic after a fairly average start setting up the world and the ideas, without actually getting too involved in the world Laura inhabits. Now we’re fully embedded in that world as well as the heart of this mystery that involves more and more the gods we’ve not seen before like Woden.

McKelvie and Gillen are doing good stuff hear, especially in terms to some solid storytelling that isn’t being especially radical or new, but because most mainstream comics are stale and dreary, it looks spectacular compared to your average Marvel/DC comic.

Next issue, it seems we’re having a rave and we’re all invited to sign up.

9 thoughts on “What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #7

  1. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #8 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #10 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #11 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #12 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #13 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #14 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #15 | My Little Underground

  8. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #16 | My Little Underground

  9. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #17 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

