What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #8

Thoughts about #1#2#3#4#5#6 and #7.

wickedandthedivine-8

We get to meet the eleventh god this issue and after that several pages of genuinely brilliant storytelling that you normally don’t expect to see in mainstream comics these days.

wickedandthedivine15

Laura is at the sort of rave those of us old enough to have experienced the Second Summer of Love thought we’d attended but really it was a basement somewhere in Nottingham but at least the E’s were good.

wickedandthedivine16

This issue is frankly. fucking stunning. Nothing especially happens apart from finding a little bit more out about the personalities of the gods but as a comic book representation of being on an E raving with your mates I’ve never read a comic that’s even come close to getting it, let alone actually (nearly) getting that feeling across thanks to the splendid storytelling, colouring and panel layouts.

This is a massively exhilarating issue because of the 1,2,3,4 panel structure which attempts to replicate beats per minute (BPM’s) and does so well. Even the last few pages with Laura coming home on the bus in the wee hours feels authentic in an issue that is possibly not the best in terms of plot, but as a bit of storytelling is by far the best issue so far in this series.

I’d read this waving some glowsticks in the air if I were you.

8 thoughts on “What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #8

  1. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #10 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #11 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #12 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #13 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #14 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #15 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #16 | My Little Underground

  8. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #17 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

