What I thought of Crossed +100 #3

Thoughts about #1 and #2.

Crossed+100-3

Right away in this issue Moore shows that the future of the Crossed is one where civilisation is returning; an image that looks out of place for anyone used to the world of the Crossed.

crossed+100-10

Of course this is still dangerous, but the sense that the worse of the Crossed is over is palatable in a lot of what Moore’s shown us so far. Yes, they’re still around and they’ve caused trouble for our cast of characters, but compared to your ordinary Crossed comic, there’s not the ongoing threat you’d expect.

Future and her group return to Chooga (Chattanooga) and we get to see the larger human society in this future, and it’s a great example of Moore developing ideas and language in fascinating ways.

crossed+100-11

This is of course all about setting this future up while at the same tie building up this sense of slow dread Moore has built up over the previous two issues.In these scenes we see how humanity has recovered to such a degree that children now play at being the Crossed. A panel that’s actually quite scary in the possibility that its Moore dropping some massive foreshadowing.

crossed+100-12

Future sits down to view the video tape she found on her foraging trip, and it’s disturbing viewing as she’s seeing that the Crossed are acting oddly to say the least. At a meeting of the community it’s decided that they’ll go out and mop up the presumed small groups of Crossed so these groups of survivors can link up and start to grow larger. Before they go out there’s a chilling couple of panels that references Cormac McCarthy’s The Road.

crossed+100-13

This issue is a marvelous bit of science fiction that’s building up nicely. Like the other issues the Crossed are used sparingly in order I assume so that when they do arrive, it comes as a massive shock. It’s also clear that although there’s this underlying theme of optimism, Moore’s making it obvious that something awful is brewing as Future and her group find more and more signs of the Crossed being more and more organised.

Crossed +100 is a fine comic that’s constructed well and thanks to Andrane’s art, looks bloody lovely. Next issue can’t really come fast enough.

15 thoughts on “What I thought of Crossed +100 #3

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #4 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #5 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #6 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #7 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #8 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #9 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #10 | My Little Underground

  8. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #11 | My Little Underground

  9. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #12 | My Little Underground

  10. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #13 | My Little Underground

  11. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #14 | My Little Underground

  12. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #15 | My Little Underground

  13. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #16 | My Little Underground

  14. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #17 | My Little Underground

  15. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #18 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

