What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #9

Thoughts about #1#2#3#4#5#6#7 and #8.

wickedandthedivine-9

 

This issue of the increasingly excellent The Wicked and the Divine is about answers to little questions that have been dropped in throughout the series so far. Of course it’s not for everything, but there’s enough to tease along the story quite nicely as Annake (the ‘mother’ of these young Gods) reveals some secrets.

wickedandthedivine17

 

Apart from being sagely and wise, she’s also got a nice line in putdowns.

wickedandthedivine18

There’s a lot of chat here as various people draw answers from the mysterious Annake reveals some truths about the creations of the Gods and just what their purpose is.

wickedandthedivine19

This is a big issue in terms of plot. There’s the introduction of the twelfth god to complete the pantheon, a dark plot, some revelations, and on top of all this something has happened to Laura. It’s a cracking issue for something that’s really pages and pages of people talking to each other but this works mainly because Gillen and McKelvie keep it always interesting. In effect it’s an opposite of last issues big dance scene, and this is the morning after chat that often happens after a big night out.

The Wicked and the Divine has become possibly, the best superhero-type comic out there right now. If you’ve been missing this then get on board now, but give it a few issues as it’ll be worth it by the time you get to here as it’s a splendid example of how to do mainstream comics.

8 thoughts on “What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #9

  1. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #10 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #11 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #12 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #13 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #14 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #15 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #16 | My Little Underground

  8. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #17 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

