What I thought of They’re Not Like Us #4

Thoughts about #1#2 and #3.

theyrenotlikeus-4

 

This issues title comes from The Jam and thanks to this comic I heard a song I’ve probably not heard in a couple of decades at least since I used to hang around sleazy clubs in Leicester during the times they had alternative nights and it was ‘grab a goth’ Mondays. Oh happy days….

So, as for this issue it opens with Blurgirl having a nightmare about her parents, speaking to Syd about it and Syd finding out that all the kids in this house may have superpowers but they all dream of their parents.

theyrenotlikeus12

The Voice however hasn’t got time for Syd to come to terms with her new situation, let alone have her parent find her. There’s also the problem for this group that Syd isn’t a killer, and that matters with this group that fight to defend themselves from people such as the policeman trying to track Syd down.

theyrenotlikeus13

This isn’t just a story of teenage superheroes trying to come to terms with their abilities as you’d see in the X Men, but this is about teenage angst, pain and the manipulation teenagers suffer and inflict upon each other. Yes there’s the sort of angst you might get in a mainstream teen superhero comic but there’s something nastier, darker and crueler about  where this is going, and with next issue promising to tell the story of The Voice we might as readers be getting answers to what exactly is his agenda.

I’d like to see a more political agenda come to the front here to temper the angst, but They’re Not Like Us is good solid storytelling, a little obvious at times, but it’s developing quite nicely as a drama that happens to involve kids with superpowers.

4 thoughts on “What I thought of They’re Not Like Us #4

  1. Pingback: What I thought of They’re Not Like Us #5 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of They’re Not Like Us #6 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of They’re Not Like Us #7 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of They’re Not Like Us #8 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

