What I thought of Crossed +100 #4

Thoughts about #1#2 and #3.

crossed+100--4

This issue starts with a concise history of the world from the Crossed outbreak to the present day of the comic. It’s a pretty fascinating thing to see Moore extrapolate what Garth Ennis set out into something still the same, but vastly different in that Moore is trying to take it further to a point where humanity has found a foothold on the planet again. Moore’s vision is more hopeful than Ennis’s bleak vision of the end of the world.

crossed+100-14

There’s also an interesting use of Islam here as religion still exists in this world, but it’s become a vastly different strain to the type of Islam practised in all its forms today. It’s good to see Moore taking religion on as apart from Ennis, you rarely see anyone touching upon religion in Crossed as it gets in the way of bad writers hacking out some gore and rape.

crossed+100-15

And then Moore does a pretty explicit sex scene between two people that care for each other, which is rare for a Crossed comic as normally sex is either purely titillating or it descends into rape. This is a nice little scene that adds to the character of Future Taylor. Moore also comes up with the best name for an arse ever…

crossed+100-16

 

 

 

I am going to use the term ‘bottom boobies’ all the time now.

Anyhow Future gets some answers to the mysteries she’s found so far in this series, but these also open up more questions.

crossed+100-17

Moore also reveals Judaism and Christianity didn’t adapt to a post-Crossed world, but Islam did, and it’s things like this that raise this run of Crossed above the normal issues which are at best pretty poor when not written by Garth Ennis.

The Crossed only pop up in the video tape found in an earlier issue, and they’re acting very strange indeed, but the main priority is sweeping areas of Crossed so the communities building up linking up with each other can be free of Crossed.

crossed+100-18

Moore’s built up the horror is dribs and drabs. Most of this series has been about building up a future of the planet infected by the Crossed, but all the time there’s a feeling that something is coming and its going to be horrendous.

16 thoughts on “What I thought of Crossed +100 #4

  1. I appreciate your take on the Crossed comics. Most of the stories read like poorly written fan fiction, but then there are gems like “The Fatal Englishman,” “The Thin Red Line,” and the web comic “Wish You Were Here.” (My personal favorite). I am thrilled with how +100 is doing this slow burn, it may end up overtaking “Wish You Were Here” as my favorite Crossed story.

    Like

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #5 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #6 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #7 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #8 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #9 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #10 | My Little Underground

  8. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #11 | My Little Underground

  9. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #12 | My Little Underground

  10. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #13 | My Little Underground

  11. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #14 | My Little Underground

  12. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #15 | My Little Underground

  13. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #16 | My Little Underground

  14. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #17 | My Little Underground

  15. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #18 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

