What I thought of Archie versus Predator #1

archievpredator-1

I never liked Archie Comics. They were always too American for me, too sweet, too cloying. Too bloody nice. Sure, I liked the work of Dan DeCarlo but after things like Cherry Poptart, Archie Comics were easy to dismiss and parody. In recent years Archie Comics have tried to drag themselves kicking and screaming into the modern age with some success, and now they’ve got Archie and his pals fighting Predator. Yes, The Predator.

Writer Alex De Campi and artist Fernando Ruiz have been tasked to bringing this idea that was obviously dreamed out at 4am over a few lines and after dropping some pills, and it really should be terrible. It really should make one sick. It doesn’t because although its insanely stupid an idea, De Campi just about squeezes the idea into a workable script. that takes its cue for the gang going on holiday in Costa Rica thanks to Jughead and this gives excuse for some silly foreshadowing, but some equally silly but fun dialogue.

archievpredator

The Archie gang haven’t ever changed really. Jughead still eats all the time, Archie fancies Veronica but it’s Betty that’d be better for him and on, but this is updated and of course, the Predator is knocking around.

archievpredator1

And there’s gore. In an Archie Comic!

archievpredator2

This is simply mental. Every single page shouldn’t work. It shouldn’t, but I enjoyed this thoroughly and that is something of a surprise to say the least. The fact this is a four issue mini series makes it even more insane as they have to keep this going for three more issues!

3 thoughts on “What I thought of Archie versus Predator #1

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Archie versus Predator #2 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Archie versus Predator #3 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of Archie versus Predator #4 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

