What I thought of Crossed: Badlands #76

Thoughts about #75.

crossed-badlands-76

This issue opens as in the present time of the Crossed as our cast of present day characters are fleshed out & they’re pretty much stock Crossed survivors but the real story that Keiron Gillen is telling is that of the Crossed outbreak 75,000 years ago.

crossedbadlands5

 

It’s here where Gillen continues the story of young Lion captured by the Blood Men (Crossed) and being transported somewhere far away from his home. Sadly for him the Blood Men are intent on keeping him alive and healthy, though this doesn’t mean that he’s not suffering horrors.

crossedbadlands6

I have to say that it’s taken me a bit to get artist Rafa Ortiz’s art but it really is quite glorious in places and his grasp of horror is superb, especially when Lion is taken into the city of the Blood Men and Gillen goes to town describing the horrors of a prehistoric city of Crossed.

crossedbadlands7

This is genuinely quite horrible. There’s something about these prehistoric horrors that resonate badly and Gillen skillfully ensures that the reader is suitably horrified, then just as it seems to be that things are going to be a tad too horrible Gillen switches the narrative to the modern era and the group find the professors very secure hideout.

crossedbadlands8

This could have been a mess as Gillen splits the story into two but it isn’t. He times the switch from one time to another perfectly and manages to use it so he creates cliffhangers, not to mention drawing the reader away from something very horrible that will live in the readers head. It’s skillful stuff and unlike 99% of the non-Garth Ennis/Alan Moore Crossed material I’ve read. It’s such a pity it’s only six issues.

4 thoughts on “What I thought of Crossed: Badlands #76

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed: Badlands #77 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed: Badlands #78 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed: Badlands #79 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed: Badlands #80 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

