I spent a Sunday watching Jordan Hembrough’s Toy Hunter on Quest and had a fantastic day

Many, many years ago I had boxes upon boxes of toys and games. They filled a cupboard and then some back home in Glasgow. There were Space: 1999 diecast Eagle’s,  War of the Daleks boardgame, Action Men galore, plus various old model kits, including the old Aurora ones I’ve mentioned previously.

Most treasured of all were my Mego figures. I had loads. All the main Star Trek ones, most of the Marvel ones, and a fair chunk of the DC ones, though I though I had most of them then I discovered there were ones I couldn’t ever find. I could never find Conan, and in those pre-teen years I used to love Conan so what else could a boy have to complete that love but a Conan action figure?

I especially love the hairdo, because obviously barbarians love a beehive.

But regardless of my feeble incomplete collection of Mego’s I still had loads and loads, including a set of Star Trek figures still boxed, and that took me months of scouring Glasgow’s markets and toy shops, including many a Sunday dragging my folks round the Barras trying to find these things. Luckily I found one stall there that had loads and in serious numbers.

Then in 1988 I moved to Leicester and made a choice to leave all this stuff behind and prioritise my comics with the idea I’d return to get the rest, which I did but in the process of the move I lost my Mego’s (or they were nicked) but as pissed off as I was at the time, that faded over the years and I’d forgotten all about this til yesterday.

Sunday had the Toy Hunter marathon on Quest TV presented by Jordan Hembrough, an astonishingly cheery American toy dealer that manages to be astonishingly enthusiastic about everything without putting on that faux joy some presenters of programmes that pop up on Quest often have. In fact Toy Hunter is badly addictive telly for someone like myself who spent 20 odd years as a comic dealer on and off and there’s a lot of similarities between the toy market and comic collector market. In fact a Venn diagram of the both would should a massive intersection.

So for around ten hours yesterday I watched programme after programme and loved every single minute of it. Yes, some I’d seen before, but they’re still fun, and for me as an old comic dealer it’s glorious to see a dealer do most of the things I did for ages, and of course it’s the episodes featuring the gang doing one of America’s big comic/genre conventions that attract my eye mainly so I can relive some fun vicariously.

In a month that’s been pretty crap yesterdays marathon  was a little glimmer of joy for a fairly dreich Sunday that gave me a massive lift. I could lap this programme up for hours and indeed I did. After the marathon finished I left it in a happier state than I did before I started watching it but I wanted only one thing, and that was to go back and find that box of Mego’s that vanished into the ether quarter of a century ago. Partly because I could have a nice wee holiday off the back of selling the boxed figures but mainly I could relive my childhood by playing with those toys again. And that’s how deeply enjoyable this programme is if it gets an auld cynic like myself wanting to be eight again…..

Leave a Reply

