What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #11

Thoughts about #1#2#3#4#5#6#7 ,#8#9 and #10.

wickedandthedivine-11

To say the cover of this issue is ominous is a vast understatement. Just whose head has been blown off and how is this going to affect the series from now on? Read on if you want rather massive spoilers, if not go do something else….

Before these questions are answered the issue starts with Laura moping over the fact she’s not a god, which should be a good thing because of the limited lifespan, but in this series Keiron Gillen has made it clear being a god is an aspirational thing regardless of the early death, and with Laura being such a fan of the gods it only makes sense for her to want to be one herself. Then there’s Baphomet looking for a bit of extra life by killing another god.

wickedandthedivine22

This prompts the first really superheroic fight scene this series has really had, and it’s well executed in the context of the story, not to mention artist Jamie McKelvie draws it spiffingly.

wickedandthedivine23

Then there’s the last few pages of this issue. Over the years reading comics, especially superhero ones, the line ‘this changes everything’ is more used than probably any other, but this ending does change the entire series, plus it answers questions while opening up new ones. It does also make it hard to work out exactly how the series can continue but there is a next issue, and there will be one after that so either there’s an astonishing sleight of hand or Laura and her family are dead. As said, this is massive and it’s handled perfectly as I didn’t see it coming at all.

So next issue???

7 thoughts on “What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #11

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed: Badlands #79 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #12 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #13 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #14 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #15 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #16 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #17 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

