What I thought of Godzilla in Hell #1

godzillainhell

When I heard that writer/artist James Stokoe was going to produce a comic called Godzilla in Hell from publishers IDW I was throwing my money at my computer screen and dropping my pants in excitement, because it’s fucking GODZILLA in HELL!! Fuck, it even tells you this in the first big splash page of the first issue in case you’ve forgotten in the three pages since the cover. Really this is Dante’s Inferno but with Godzilla, and Stokoe makes this really clear.

godzillainhell1

Stokoe’s Godzilla is a glorious thing with a lovely expressive face, and he manages to draw body language on him perfectly which is handy if you’re doing a comic that’s on the whole devoid of any dialogue.,

godzillainhell2

Of course Godzilla should fight giant monsters, and this being hell, that’s not long before a giant monster comes along for a fight.

godzillainhell3

This really is enormous fun for giant monster lovers, Godzilla fans, not to mention scholars of Dante as I’m betting there’s never been a version with a giant fire-breathing monster before. As for Stokoe, I wasn’t familiar with his work previous to this but it’s lovely. It manages to cross Japanese manga with an American style that isn’t painfully cutesy, plus he gives Godzilla a real personality. Well, as much as a giant lizard can have I suppose.

Godzilla in Hell is the best looking, most fun Godzilla comic I’ve read in some time and I hope Godzilla’s descent into hell is as entertaining next issue as this one is.

One thought on “What I thought of Godzilla in Hell #1

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Godzilla in Hell #2 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

