Gorecki-A short tale of Glastonbury 2003

2003 was an odd Glastonbury for me in that I essentially went by myself. Yes I knew people who were also going but I felt a year at the festival doing my own thing was what I needed there and then, and unlike the previous year I just wanted a bit of seclusion in a crowd of 120,000 people.There’s the thing too. It was still a case that people were finding their feet after the Superfence went up so lots of people who still thought they’d be able to leap the fence came, tried and failed. It is however the last ’empty’ year before 2004 saw an increase in the capacity of the festival and the site became more and more crowded.

But 2003 allowed me to explore all by myself which was great. One of the things I stumbled across was the band Lamb playing the Jazz Stage. This was the tailed end of the entire Triphop thing, and Lamb were hardly a band that actually thrilled me then but I stumbled across them and became convinced. Sadly I didn’t catch their entire set as I was going to see Radiohead but here’s the wonderful Gorecki as a wee taster.

Leave a Reply

