What I thought of We Stand on Guard #2

Thoughts about #1.

westandonguard-2

I mentioned in the first issue that it feels like Brian K. Vaughan made the country being invaded by the USA, Canada, rather than say, Iraq or Afghanistan to make it simpler to digest for an American audience. After reading the second issue I’m sure of that and that he’s perhaps trying to do something else by making the US the clear villain in this tale of invaders and big robots but from the off here the Americans are bad bastards.

westandonguard4

In fact Vaughan lays on the ‘Americans are bastards’ line heavily in this issue.

westandonguard5

On the surface this can be treated as just an action story but it seems like Vaughan is saying something else but it’s slowly sneaking out enough for this to make me want to carry on buying it to see where it goes. This could well be not just a lot of fun, but this could be a way to tell a story of invaders that makes some in America exceptionally uncomfortable.

4 thoughts on “What I thought of We Stand on Guard #2

  1. Pingback: What I thought of We Stand on Guard #3 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of We Stand on Guard #4 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of We Stand on Guard #5 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of We Stand on Guard #6 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

