What I thought of Crossed +100 #7

Thoughts about #1#2#3#4#5 and #6.

crossed+100--7

Last issue saw Alan Moore and artist Gabriel Andrande leave the future world of the Crossed with Future Taylor escaping from her settlement after a more intelligent and in control strain of Crossed invade, take over and kill, torture or imprison her people. By any stretch of the imagination it was a cold, scary horrible ending to a cracking little mystery/horror story This issue sees Si Spurrier take over the writing and Fernando Heinz take over the art. It’s the art that’s the first thing that’s instantly different as Heinz is a lot more cartoony and looser than Andrade was, and I admit that the effect is initially jarring but he settles in just fine especially when he draws the more grotesque material.

crossed+100-28

It’s Spurrier’s script that’s the real big difference because he’s injected a thick vein of jet black humour into this right from the off as we see Future trying to prepare the town of Murfreesboro for a Crossed attack.It doesn’t go well mainly because this is a peaceful Muslim (Islam is the only pre-Crossed religion to remain in use) town and they’re not fighters though the threat is very real.

crossed+100-29

It turns out they encounter the Crossed sooner rather than later which leads to something menacing for Future as one of the Crossed recognises her.

crossed+100-30

 

I like the smarter Crossed rather than their insane but dim cousins. They’re a harder threat to overcome as after all, creator Garth Ennis has made it clear from the off that you can just wait out the Crossed in the cold. To make them a real threat again is needed because they’re used too often as just insane zombies and that’s boring.

Like Moore, Spurrier is building up a plot here and although his script is less dense than Moore’s, it’s not bad at all while it cracks along at a pretty speedy pace. There’s an awful lot to explore in this post-post-apocalyptic world and I’m intrigued to see what Spurrier intends to do in it.

11 thoughts on “What I thought of Crossed +100 #7

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #8 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #9 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #10 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #11 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #12 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #13 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #14 | My Little Underground

  8. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #15 | My Little Underground

  9. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #16 | My Little Underground

  10. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #17 | My Little Underground

  11. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #18 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

