What I thought of Crossed +100 #8

Thoughts about #1#2#3#4#5#6 and #7.

crossed+100--8

Last issue Future Taylor saved the pilots of a balloon, That’s right, in a post-apocalyptic world there’s still balloons which allows Si Spurrier to drop an obvious reference to early 19th century science fiction and the work of Jules Verne. It’s a lovely little touch.

crossed+100-31

In a world where the Crossed are a serious threat again this is a lovely bit of romance but it’s a practical device for Spurrier to open up the future Crossed world Alan Moore developed as Future and Mr. McBlarney (the main pilot of the craft) travel this world. As for McBlarney, his dialogue is incredibly hard to read til I sussed that Spurrier is using a similar trick to what say, Irvine Welsh did on Trainspotting so it makes perfect sense if you read it exactly as it’s written down.

crossed+100-32

It turns out Future is a celebrity after escaping the carnage of Chooga, and she’s not exactly comfortable with her new found fame, but although the threat of the Crossed hangs over everything, the scenes between McBlarney and Future are a joy. It’s somewhat refreshing to see such scenes in a Crossed comic because they’re human, and if this is a world where humanity is finding itself again these are lovely little touches. As said though, the horrors of the Crossed aren’t far away and on a trip to another settlement Future is given a shocking video by another archivist.

crossed+100-33

The smarter Crossed are now not just murdering, torturing and raping at a whim, but instead are raiding smaller settlements and setting out a clear set of demands.

crossed+100-34

After the earlier scenes this is horrifying which is exactly the point because the town Taylor is in is the same town the Crossed have threatened, so the hope is that she ends up being one of the quota imposed by the Crossed.

This is an excellent continuation of Alan Moore’s story that is saying something more about this broken world, and the things that people will do to save themselves. It’s pronounced how much more the threat is here than the initial issues of Moore’s run, partly because Moore was telling a different type of story but mainly because Spurrier wants us to face the decisions made in this issue and a slower pace wouldn’t be suitable for this story.

So a great issue and a horrible final page to top it all off. Fantastic stuff.

10 thoughts on “What I thought of Crossed +100 #8

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #9 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #10 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #11 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #12 | My Little Underground

  5. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #13 | My Little Underground

  6. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #14 | My Little Underground

  7. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #15 | My Little Underground

  8. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #16 | My Little Underground

  9. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #17 | My Little Underground

  10. Pingback: What I thought of Crossed +100 #18 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

