What I thought of Miracleman by Gaiman and Buckingham #2

Thoughts about #1.

miraclemangaimanbuckingham-2

The next part of Marvel’s reprints of Neil Gaiman and Mark Buckingham’s Miracleman takes up the story in summer 1990 which is possibly before a lot of people reading this for the first time were even born, but trust me kids, the summer of 1990 was bloody brilliant.

As for the story there’s one panel at the start which is a bit jarring, but in a ‘bloody hell, this is a bit prophetic‘ way.

miraclemangaimanbuckingham3

It seems the Miracleman Family govern this utopia by means of polls like the ones you see on Buzzfeed. It’s an odd little detail that’s going to click with the younger reader, but I remember at the time thinking how odd it was that Gaiman thought everyone would have a computer at home. I mean, even in this fantastical world that’s just ridiculous right???

This is the tale of one man that falls in love with Miraclewoman, has a brief fling with her, and then she moves on as after all, she’s a god and he’s a human.

miraclemangaimanbuckingham4

As I’ve said, I don’t really remember much of these stories as I only read them once at the time, and as mentioned, 1990 really was a fabulous year, but this is nice little story of a man being sexually obsessed with a god and that really is it in terms of plot.

miraclemangaimanbuckingham5

What makes this a nice, if somewhat short, story is the character of the man and the god. This is a man that fixes mills, spends time mainly by himself and hasn’t had sex in five years, which apart from the mills is pretty much describing your average fanboy in 1990. So this is Gaiman dropping the reader into the comic and having them fuck Miraclewoman, or at least, that’s how I see it looking back at 1990 from the year 2015.

It’s a lovely, if melancholic story but the second story I have utterly no memory of at all reading when it first appeared in the original Eclipse Comics. It’s a story of kids behind the bikesheds, one of which is a Bates, someone following the maniac Johnny Bates that murdered tens of thousands of Londoners.

miraclemangaimanbuckingham6

I love the mention of The Face, that’s so 80’s, early 90’s!

This though is the Miracleman universe version of the Bash Street Kids, and it’s positively brimming with not just handy exposition that fills in the world of the Golden Age, but drops a lot of foreshadowing too. It’s a fun little story with some cracking cartooning from Mark Buckingham.

The rest of the issue is made up of Gaiman’s script, some original art and it’s over for another issue as Marvel try to get to the new Gaiman and Buckingham material sooner rather than later. It’s odd thinking that at some point this story which started with Alan Moore’s revamp in Warrior #1 back in 1982 is going to be completed in the mid-20 teens.

4 thoughts on “What I thought of Miracleman by Gaiman and Buckingham #2

  1. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman by Gaiman and Buckingham #3 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman by Gaiman and Buckingham #4 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman by Gaiman and Buckingham #5 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of Miracleman by Gaiman and Buckingham #6 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

