Marvel Comics Convention 1976 is a reminder of more innocent times

Back in the 1970’s I adored and worshiped Stan Lee as most pre-pubescent kids into Marvel Comics did back then. Even as I turned into a teenager I loved Lee and Marvel for creating all those characters like the Fantastic Four, Doctor Strange, The Avengers, Spider-Man, and many more that gave me so much joy from an early age. I liked artists like Jack Kirby and Steve Ditko but I didn’t really appreciate them til I was older as I liked Neal Adams, John Buscema and Gene Colan better.

At some point in the early 1980’s I learned more about those happy days at Marvel. I learned that Stan Lee wasn’t quite what he said he was, but I still thought he was a god. I’ve even met him a couple of times and happily said so to his face. Of course the truth behind Marvel Comics is a bit sadder and less glowing than that I grew up with but I’m still not going to let it taint my happy childhood memories too much.

So, the other day these videos popped up in my recommendations on YouTube. It’s a fairly poor quality video of the Marvel Comics Convention held in New York in 1976 featuring a lot of Stan Lee, but the late Archie Goodwin is in there too, as this provides a little glimpse into a more innocent times. Conventions then weren’t places where multinationals sold you crap and professional cosplayers outnumbered people who read comics, but places where fans of comics would meet, gather and enjoy themselves without feeding the urge of consumerism.

It’s a lovely glimpse into the past. Enjoy….

Leave a Reply

