What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #16

Thoughts about #1#2#3#4#5#6#7 ,#8#9#10#11#12#13#14 and #15.

wickedandthedivine-16

The Morrigan is The Wicked and the Divine’s token Goth, and every comic seems to have a token Goth.

wickedandthedivine30

So if you haven’t gathered by now the focus this issue is on The Morrigan and yes, before she became a god and part of the Pantheon she was a typical Goth.

wickedandthedivine-33

After a meeting with Anneke, The Morrigan is born, and this as predicted, unleash’s trouble further down the line..

wickedandthedivine-34

This isn’t a bad issue, but by the recent standards it’s pretty dull as The Morrigan before she became a god isn’t that interesting, and neither is her stereotypicaly nihilistic boyfriend Cameron that she also makes into a god, which as we’ve seen, delivers the trouble we’ve seen in the series so far.

It just feels like a pause in the story with characters I don’t especially care for spouting sub Neil Gaiman-esque bullshit and it’s a pity, but it’s not terrible, just disappointing. That said, I’ve enough faith in Keiron Gillen to ensure this is but a momentary lapse in the quality he’s maintained on this comic for a long time now.

3 thoughts on “What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #16

  1. Are you reading Empire of Blood from Graphic India? It’s got a very 70/80s weekly British Comics feel to it, and I would be very interested in reading your views. From your other writing it looks like something you would enjoy.
    PS I found this blog on a google search as I used to work Saturdays at the Final Frontier in Leicester in the late 80s. I couldn’t stop laughing at your comments about John who was my boss at the time. As I was only young he used to give me a hard time about my lack of worldly wisdom in comparison to him!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: What I thought of The Wicked and the Divine #17 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

