What I thought of James Bond #2

Thoughts about #1.

jamesbond-2

The first issue of this Warren Ellis version of James Bond was splendid so it’d be rude not to try the second issue out and it’s as just as superb a spy thriller as the first one as the story of Bond tracking down a drugs ring in Berlin unfolds.

jamesbond4

From the off this is pure Bond. He’s chatted up, snogging and threatened by strangulation all by page five, but Bond being bond manages to get himself out of a sticky situation, across Berlin and to a nice cup of coffee and a chat about the British Empire.

jamesbond5

At the British Embassy he’s finally reunited with his ‘funny little gun’…

jamesbond6

Ellis is doing a brilliant job at making Bond relevant for the times today and he’s doing it better than the Daniel Crag films too, though those films are variable in quality, Ellis paints a consistent story of Bond doing his job as some sort of murderous civil servant dealing with the bureaucracy of the job. It’s a nicely sly take on traditional Bond but Ellis still throws in mysterious scientists and corpses to tell a grand tale.

I’d highly recommend this book. It’s building up to be something quite special in terms of adapting a character that’s not always translated well to comics.

4 thoughts on “What I thought of James Bond #2

  1. Pingback: What I thought of James Bond #3 | My Little Underground

  2. Pingback: What I thought of James Bond #4 | My Little Underground

  3. Pingback: What I thought of James Bond #5 | My Little Underground

  4. Pingback: What I thought of James Bond #6 | My Little Underground

Leave a Reply

