Time to think about the future.

As Jack Nicholson once said, ‘think about the future’.

hqdefault

After a year of recovering from a stroke and now being in remission from cancer I’m faced with not quite a Year Zero reboot, but more or less a soft reboot of my life and that’s actually a wonderfully empowering thing. So I’m undergoing physio to get better after the stroke and the slipped disc though I’m in some agony after last week’s session after seeing some older chap in his 80’s smash the cross-trainer. Refusing to let my competitive streak stay quiet I decided to try to smash his time which has broken me but this is all good as it helps make me better for the future.

And what do I do in the future? A month ago I wasn’t sure. I was looking at a number of things but over the last month things have coalesced into a few things. I’m still signed off work and expect to be so until probably Easter and then I’ll be fit and able to work, at least for a while as I’ve decided to get myself back into comics. Specifically retail. There’s a large hole in the market here in Glasgow and I intend to fill it. Mainly the issue is the comic shops in Glasgow areĀ  not really comic shops but instead are selling merchandise (toys, lots and lots of toys), don’t prioritise comics (and I don’t just mean superhero comics but the wide range of comics) or are just rank-smelling dens of shite. There was an idea I was juggling around for a shop in Bristol (where there’s also an open goal in terms of a good comic shop) a few years ago but that was rudely stopped when family problems got in the way. That idea (and business plan) can be tweaked for Glasgow.

This means I’m looking to build up stock to supplement my own collection and although I may well take a job just to pass the time until I get the full plan underway (being signed off sick and doing nothing all day is tediously boring) I’ll look to do the marts and conventions soonish once I’ve built up enough of a stock. There’s a few things to sort out before then and of course, I need to be declared fit and able to work which as said I don’t expect this side of Easter, which to be fair is quite impressive considering my near death experiences in the last year or so.

Which means there is a future. A year ago I didn’t think I’d get past the summer. Now I’m planning for what I hope will be for the next decade and longer. It’s been amazingly quick in terms of recovery, but perhaps less of the cross-trainer in the weeks to come…