Cut For Life

A year ago I had a life-saving operation to remove a tumour and my thyroid. I went into the operation unsure if I’d even emerge from the anaesthetic as I was less than three months out of having a stroke, but the risk was worth it as the bloody amazing surgeons removed the cancer from my neck.

A year later I’m trying to get on with life having relocated from Bristol to Glasgow. Things haven’t been easy but on the physical front my general health is better but circumstances mean returning to work for the while at least just to escape the hellish Kafka-esque bureaucracy which is the UK benefits system and the sucking whirlpool of despair that is Glasgow City Council.

But a year on I have a future. A year ago I was 50:50 in terms of actually having any future beyond the 6/6/16/ Things can only get better…